Guidelines of Government of India offices closed due to COVID-19

As specified by the Ministry of Home Affairs on 24 March, 2020 the following lists of offices shall remain closed due to COVID-19 Epidemic in the Country.

List of offices remain to be closed

  1. Offices of government of India, its Autonomous/Subordinate Offices and Public Corporations
  2. Offices of state/ union Territory governments, their autonomous bodies, corporations etc.
  3. Commercial and private establishments
  4. Industrial establishments
  5. All transport services- air, rail, roadways
  6. Hospitality services
  7. All educational, training, research, coaching institutions etc
  8. All places of worship
  9. All social/political/sports/entertainment/academic/cultural/religious functions/ gathering
  10. In case of a funeral not more than 20 persons are allowed.


  1. Defence, central armed police forces, treasury, public utilities, disaster management, power generation and transmission units, post offices, National Informatics centre, Early Warning Agencies.
  2. Police, home guards, civil defence, fire and emergency services, disaster management and prisons
  3. District administration and treasury
  4. Electricity, water , sanitation
  5. Municipal bodies- only staff required for essential services like sanitation, personnel-related to water supply etc
  6. Hospitals and all related medical establishments including their manufacturing and distribution units both in the public and private sector
  7. All these shall remain open
  8. Shops including ration shops dealing with essential products
  9. Banks, insurance offices and ATMs
  10. Print and electronic media
  11. Telecommunications & internet services, broadcasting and cable services
  12. Delivery of essential goods through e-commerce
  13. Petrol pumps, LPG, petroleum & gas retail and storage outlets
  14. Power generation
  15. Capital & debt market services
  16. Cold storage & warehousing services
  17. Private security services
  18. Manufacturing units of essential commodities & Production units
  19. Transportation of essential goods only & Fire, law & order and emergency services
  20. Hotel, homestays, lodges, and motels which are accommodating tourists & persons stranded due to lockdown, medical & emergency staff, air, and sea crew

Important measures to be taken by Offices

  • It is stated by the Union Home Minister that all possible measures except exceptions shall be implemented in all parts of the country for a period of 21 days with effect from 25.03.2020. For its implementation, the incident commander will be responsible in the respective local jurisdictions.
  • All these strict restrictions fundamentally relate to the movement of people, but not to that of essential goods.
  • Any person violating these containment measures will be liable to be proceeded against as per the provisions of section 51 to 60 of the Disaster Management Act, 2005, besides legal action under Section 188 of the IPC.
Please follow and like us:

Leave a Comment